Baillière's Midwives' Dictionary (2017)
The Midwife's Labour and Birth Handbook (2018)
Pharmacology Revealed (2019)
Evidence-Based Care for Normal Labour and Birth (2007)
Evidence-based care is a well established principle in contemporary healthcare and a world wide health care movement. However, despite the emphasis on promoting evidence-based or effective care without the unnecessary use of technologies and drugs, intervention rates in childbirth are rising rapidly. Evidence-based Care for Normal Labour and Birthbrings to light much of the evidence around what works best for normal birth which has, until now, remained largely hidden and ignored by maternity care professionals. Beginning with the decision about where to have a baby, through all the phases of labour to the immediate post-birth period, it systematically details research and other evidence sources that endorse a low intervention approach. The book: highlights where the evidence is compelling discusses its application where women question its relevance to them and where the practitioner's expertise leads them to challenge it gives background and context before discussing the research to date includes questions for reflection and practice recommendations generated from the evidence. Using research data, Evidence-based Care for Normal Labour and Birthcritiques institutionalised, scientifically managed birth and endorses a more humane midwifery-led model. Packed with up-to-date and relevant information, this controversial book will help all students, practising midwives and doulas keep abreast of the evidence surrounding normal birth and ensure their practice takes full advantage of it. hem to challenge it gives background and context before discussing the research to date includes questions for reflection and practice recommendations generated from the evidence. Using research data, Evidence-based Care for Normal Labour and Birthcritiques institutionalised, scientifically managed birth and endorses a more humane midwifery-led model. Packed with up-to-date and relevant information, this controversial book will help all students, practising midwives and doulas keep abreast of the evidence surrounding normal birth and ensure their practice takes full advantage of it.
Evidence Based Midwifery (2010)
Evidence based practice is now widely accepted as a fundamentaltenet of midwifery. The importance of evidence in definingmidwifery policy and practice in the UK health system, and others,is acknowledged and enduring. While the development and evaluationof research in midwifery is well charted, the question of how suchevidence is incorporated into practice has, to date, received lessattention and discussion in the midwifery profession. Answeringthis need, Evidence Based Midwifery focuses on the disseminationand use of evidence for midwifery practice, and exploresmidwives? experiences in using the evidence base to informpolicy and enhance clinical practice. Written by a highly-regarded and diverse group from the UK andinternational midwifery community, Evidence Based Midwiferyaddresses issues of relevance to all midwives whether clinicalpractitioners or educators, students or supervisors, researchers ormanagers. Issues that influence evidence based midwifery arediscussed, and topics covered include problem based learning,implementation of evidence based guidelines and the involvement ofservice users. Edited by founder members of the Evidence Based MidwiferyNetwork International collaboration with contributions from the UK,Greece, Canada and the Netherlands Primary focus on the incorporation of evidence into midwiferypractice Real-life examples throughout
Supporting Women for Labour and Birth (2016)
Fear of childbirth, the increasing use of epidurals and soaring caesarean section rates are the focus of much apprehension, debate, and controversy in contemporary maternity care. Across the world, support in labour has been shown to reduce obstetric interventions and improve outcomes for women and babies, yet women often report feeling unhappy with the support they receive. This textbook provides a clear and practical guide to supporting women in labour, looking at a range of techniques and approaches that promote a safe and positive experience of birth for women and their families. 　 Written by two highly experienced midwifery authors, this text draws on up-to-date research, identifying how evidence can be applied to everyday practice. It includes narratives from women and practitioners, including midwives, doulas, childbirth educators and students. These are used to illustrate a range of situations where the quality of support is central to the quality of the experience and outcome. Supporting Women for Labour and Birth encourages readers to reflect on their experiences and examine the evidence provided by both research and the experiences of women and practitioners in order to explore how this could be incorporated into their practice.　 The only book to deal directly with the practical and emotional issues associated with labour support, it is an ideal text for student midwives and an important reference for practising midwives, doulas and other childbirth practitioners.
Midwifery (2019)
Endorsed by the Australian College of Midwives (ACM) and the New Zealand College of Midwives (NZCOM), Midwifery: Preparation for Practice has long been upheld as the definitive midwifery text for Australian and New Zealand midwifery students. Now in its 4th edition, the text presents a global model of midwifery best practice that is supported by a range of examples from the Australian, New Zealand and international midwifery contexts. Visit evolve.elsevier.com for your additional resources eBook on VitalSource Student and Instructor resources: Suite of videos Image collection PowerPoints Test Bank Review questions with answers Weblinks Now available in two volumes for ease of use: Book 1 focuses on the context of midwifery practice Book 2 focuses on midwifery practice New and significantly updated chapters include: man rights in childbirth Midwifery as primary healthcare Birth place and birth space Social and environmental determinants of women's health Contraception Variations in normal Endorsed by the Australian College of Midwives (ACM) and the New Zealand College of Midwives (NZCOM) NEW to the Evolve resources: a suite of 18 videos featuring interviews with midwifery lecturers and students who share inspirational insights, advice, challenges and opportunities for learning Now includes an eBook with all print purchases
A Midwife's Handbook (2003)
A Midwife's Handbook is designed to provide nurse midwives with quick access to important clinical information. Within each chapter, topics are arranged alphabetically to further ease the access of the information. The overall objective of this handbook is to provide information for the practitioner that is detailed, generally has not been memorized, or that discusses issues which are encountered infrequently enough that a quick review of the details is helpful when the situation arises. Nurse-midwifery management guidelines are included throughout, such as when to manage independently or when to consult with the physician. This outstanding new resource will also integrate alternative and complementary therapies along with key medical information specific to midwifery practice to provide practitioners with the complete care alternatives. Provides nurse midwives quick access to important clinical information that is detailed, generally has not been memorized, or that discusses issues which are encountered infrequently enough that a quick review of the details is helpful when the situation arises. Consistent presentation in each chapter begins with a brief definition of the problem, diagnostic tests and labs, differential diagnosis where appropriate, and concludes with a decision-making tree to assist in the decision making process. Nurse-midwifery management guidelines are included throughout to provide the practitioner with important information such as when to manage independently or when to consult with the physician. UNIQUE! Integrates alternative and complementary therapies along with key medical information specific to midwifery practice to provide practitioners with complete care alternatives.
Varney's Midwifery (2019)
Awarded Second Place in the 2018 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Maternal - Child Health/Prenatal Nursing/Childbirth and Third Place in Adult Primary Care!Varney's Midwifery, Sixth Edition is the gold standard for midwifery practice. Completely updated and revised, this text reflects current evidence-based guidelines. The Sixth Edition addresses care of women throughout the lifespan, including primary care, gynecology, maternity care in a variety of settings, and newborn care. It also provides new content on social determinants of health, the changing face of the population, and the population that midwives serve.With chapters written by expert midwives with an emphasis on anatomy, physiology, and normal physiologic processes, this text will assist students and midwives in providing healthcare services today. Chapter appendices present essential skills that are designed to help students, midwives, and international readers learn skills that are core components of midwifery practice. These critical skills are evidence-based and include insertion of contraceptive devices, hand maneuvers for birth, management of a fetus in a breech presentation, and steps for managing postpartum hemorrhage."Varney's Midwifery is a primary textbook used in midwifery education. The voices of authors from practices across the nation allow for a robust presentation of evidence-based midwifery. As society changes, and midwifery evolves, so does this textbook evolve, especially as illustrated by new content. This edition includes information that will enable midwives to provide evidence-based care within the context of shared decision making." - Editors Tekoa L. King, Mary C. Brucker, Kathryn Osborne, and Cecilia M. Jevitt
A Cochrane Pocketbook Pregnancy and Childbirth (2008)
A Guide to Effective Care in Pregnancy and Childbirth (2000)
The third edition of A guide to effective care in pregnancy and childbirth will be invaluable to anyone involved in the care of pregnant women, and to expectant parents. This updated guide summarizes the most authoritative evidence available on the effects of care practices carried out duringpregnancy, childbirth, and immediately after birth, in a clear and readily understandable format. In addition to the details provided in the text, the book concludes with six valuable tables that list the practices which are beneficial, those of unknown effectiveness, and those likely to beineffective or harmful. Based on the most systematic review to date, this comprehensive guide presents the main findings and conclusions in an easily readable, inexpensive, and conveniently-sized form. This third edition has been completely updated to include the new research evidence availablesince publication of the previous edition. Previous editions have received critical acclaim for conclusions based on sound evidence and have become a unique reference source for evaluating care policies and practices.
Evidence and Skills for Normal Labour and Birth (2012)
Evidence-based care is a well established principle in contemporary healthcare and a worldwide health care movement. However, despite the emphasis on promoting evidence-based or effective care without the unnecessary use of technologies and drugs, intervention rates in childbirth continue to rise rapidly. This new edition emphasises the importance of translating evidence into skilful practice. It updates the evidence around what works best for normal birth, aspects of which still remain hidden and ignored by some maternity care professionals. Beginning with the decision about where to have a baby, through all the phases of labour to the immediate post-birth period, it systematically details research and other evidence sources that endorse a low intervention approach. The second edition: has been expanded with new chapters on Preparation for Childbirth and Waterbirth highlights where the evidence is compelling discusses its application where women question its relevance to them and where the practitioner's expertise leads them to challenge it gives background and context before discussing the research to date includes questions for reflection, skills sections and practice recommendations generated from the evidence. Using evidence drawn from a variety of sources, Evidence and Skills for Normal Labour and Birth critiques institutionalised, scientifically managed birth and endorses a more humane midwifery-led model. Packed with up-to-date and relevant information, this text will help all students, practising midwives and doulas keep abreast of the evidence surrounding normal birth and ensure their practice takes full advantage of it.
Manual of Obstetrics (2014)
Explore the indispensable OB reference, Manual of Obstetrics, 8th Edition, now completely revised and updated. Designed to support all levels of obstetric providers, the manual offers expert guidance on obstetric care, obstetric complications, maternal complications, fetal assessment, fetal complications, and neonatal care. Clinicians, nurses, midwives and med students will benefit from this content-rich, authoritative guide.
Obstétrique (2020)
Pratique de l'accouchement (2017)
Williams Obstetrics (24e édition, 2014)
The premier reference in obstetrics for more than a century - now even more relevant to today's practice A Doody's Core Title for 2017! Williams Obstetrics is the most detailed, comprehensive, and rigorously referenced text on the subject. Written by an author team from the world-renowned Parkland Hospital, the hallmarks of this classic are its thoroughness, scientific basis, and practical applicability for the obstetrician at the bedside. This edition of Williams Obstetrics continues to emphasize the scientific-based underpinnings and evidence-based practices of the specialty. This is accomplished by using incorporating more than 3,000 new literature citations and guidelines from the most trusted professional and academic organizations. One of the important features of the twenty-fourth edition is a greater focus on the fetus as a patient and an expanded discussion of fetal diagnosis and therapy. This is complemented by more than 100 new sonographic and MR images of common fetal abnormalities. A new reorganization of the text enables the book to highlight more effectively the myriad disorders that may complicate pregnancy. Williams Obstetrics provides a convenient, clinically relevant text of value to the busy practitioner. The book summarizes important new data that has influenced evidence-based management to improve pregnancy outcomes. Much of this data is conveniently distilled into newly created tables and diagnostic and treatment algorithms. During discussion, numerous sources are cited to provide evidence-based options for patient management. Additionally, nearly 900 images complement the text, many of which are new or enhanced. These include sonograms, MR images, photographs, diagrams, and graphs. This edition of Williams Obstetrics continues to provide clinicians with everything they need to know about the practice of obstetrics with a level of authority and quality of presentation not found in any other resource.
Sauf indications contraires, les contenus de ce guide créé par le Service de la bibliothèque de l'UQTR sont sous licence CC BY 4.0
